Crabdale

I took myself up to Crabdale today to search for a couple of cup marked stones that are marked on the NYMNP Historic Environment Map.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The valley sides are covered in a thick mat of dead bracken so finding any stones, let alone cup marked stones, was a little problematic.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was the only stone I could find that bears any resemblance to a cup marked stone. I suspect the origins of the cup marks on this stone are relatively recent, perhaps someone using the stone for target practice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I failed to find the stones mentioned on the map  There are a number of other stones in this area so I will be back again.

As I was heading back a pair of cuckoos flew past me, landed nearby and sang me out of the valley.

Leave a comment