Banks of the Tees – Graeme Miles

Banbury Cross

It’s the Banks of the Tees I remember right well

When I think of the places I’ve seen in my time

The glow of the furnace the coke oven smell

The misty grey rain in the morning

But the shadow of the crane across the still green water

As the smoky sun came down is the sight I mind best

Aye the banks of the Tees I remember right well

When I think of the places I’ve seen in my time

The call of the curlew the ferry-car bell

Those rose-coloured skies in the evening

Graeme Miles

Circa 1961

Leave a Reply

